Wednesday, June 23, 2010

NHL Awards tonight

All the glitz, all the glamor, all the... erm, ok, so it's not all that.

The NHL awards to me is sorta fun, lighthearted moment after the season ends. Something not to take too seriously, meaning the show itself. It's not like there is a lot of thought put into it, because if there were they would pick better hosts than some second rate D list comedian (that's what he's billed as, I never thought he was funny). So, Jay Mohr is gonna host this thing, and he doesn't like hockey, so what's the point?

Anyhow, rather than digging into an awards shows shortcomings, here's my picks, and a couple them are for obvious, biased reasons. I'm sure you'll figure which those are.

Hart Trophy: Sidney Crosby (Penguins)
Norris Trophy: Duncan Keith (Blackhawks)
Calder Trophy: Tyler Myers (Sabres)
Jack Adams Award: Dave Tippett (Coyotes)
Vezina Trophy: Ryan Miller (Sabres)
Selke Trophy: Jordan Staal (Penguins)
Lady Byng: Martin St. Louis (Lightning)
Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: Jose Theodore (Capitals)
Ted Lindsay (formerly the Lester B. Pearson) award: Sidney Crosby (Penguins)
NHL Foundation Award: Ryan Miller (Sabres)
Mark Messier Leadership Award: I've no clue on this one, but it would be funny to see Sidney Crosby take one more thing from Ryan Miller lmao :P

Have fun and enjoy the show, 7:30 on Versus.

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

FWD: PENS ALERT: Pens sign LW MATT COOKE to 3-year extension. 2009-10 STATS: 15G, 15A, 30PTS, plus-17, 183 hits. 2010-2011 Pens schedule avail online.